Calendar
History and Genealogical Resources
Local HistoryThe Effie & Wilton Hebert Public Library has collected information and resources on the history of Port Neches and parts of surrounding Jefferson County. A large portion of this information is available for patron use at this time. The archival collection is still under development and must be cataloged before entry into the library database. We do have a large portion of scanned images already compiled, but some still need identification.
A partial list of the contents include Tugboat Island scrapbooks, history of the Port Neches Public Library in photograph albums and scrapbooks, First National Bank of Port Neches photograph album, Port Neches Town & Garden Club scrapbooks, Sapphire City of the Neches original manuscript and photographs, a picture of Granny Block, the history of the Port Neches Junior High School Band, the 1938 Port Neches-Groves Senior Class picture, and the Operation Patriotism scrapbook.
Volunteers are needed to help identify persons, events or locales in numerous photographs before the library can add them to the archival collection. If you are available to help, please contact Chelsea Moore in the reference department of the library, or phone 722-4554 for more information.
Ancestry Library EditionThe library offers patrons a chance to look up genealogical information through Ancestry.com through the library. In-library only, but free to use.
City DirectoriesThe cities of Port Neches and Nederland are included in the Beaumont and Port Arthur city directories. The library also has copies of the Orange County, Texas directory.
Newspaper Microfilm CollectionThe library has the local weekly newspaper on microfilm reels. The paper was published under several titles throughout the years. Some years have missing issues.
Digitized copies of the (Midcounty) Chronicle and Port Arthur News are also available for searching and downloading at the Reference Desk..
The missing issues are:
Dec 1945-1947, Apr 1960, Nov 1960, Jan 1969, Jun 1969, Nov-Dec 1969, May 1970-Sep 1972, Apr-Oct 1975, Sep 21-Oct 12, 2005
CD Databases
Vertical FileThe library has a vertical file as part of the library collection. It contains around 80 folders with assorted information covering Port Neches and Jefferson County history to everyday information, such as how to preserve fruit and vegetables, chair canning, net making, and building and maintaining a pond. A "Vertical File" call number search in the library catalog will list the vertical file titles. Click on the title to see the record information. Please check out the vertical files here.
You can find other Genealogy Databases under the database tab on the home page. Please let us know if you need any assistance!
A partial list of the contents include Tugboat Island scrapbooks, history of the Port Neches Public Library in photograph albums and scrapbooks, First National Bank of Port Neches photograph album, Port Neches Town & Garden Club scrapbooks, Sapphire City of the Neches original manuscript and photographs, a picture of Granny Block, the history of the Port Neches Junior High School Band, the 1938 Port Neches-Groves Senior Class picture, and the Operation Patriotism scrapbook.
Volunteers are needed to help identify persons, events or locales in numerous photographs before the library can add them to the archival collection. If you are available to help, please contact Chelsea Moore in the reference department of the library, or phone 722-4554 for more information.
Ancestry Library EditionThe library offers patrons a chance to look up genealogical information through Ancestry.com through the library. In-library only, but free to use.
City DirectoriesThe cities of Port Neches and Nederland are included in the Beaumont and Port Arthur city directories. The library also has copies of the Orange County, Texas directory.
- Beaumont -- 1909 - 2018
- Port Arthur -- 1964 - 2018
- Orange County -- 1999, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007
Newspaper Microfilm CollectionThe library has the local weekly newspaper on microfilm reels. The paper was published under several titles throughout the years. Some years have missing issues.
- Peoples Press -- 1929 (oldest and only a partial year)
- The Chronicle -- 1932-1970
- Midcounty Chronicle Review -- 1972-1976
- Chronicle-Review Sport -- 1977
- Port Neches Chronicle -- 1977-1982
- Mid County Chronicle and Community Post -- 1983-1989
- Mid County Chronicle
Digitized copies of the (Midcounty) Chronicle and Port Arthur News are also available for searching and downloading at the Reference Desk..
The missing issues are:
Dec 1945-1947, Apr 1960, Nov 1960, Jan 1969, Jun 1969, Nov-Dec 1969, May 1970-Sep 1972, Apr-Oct 1975, Sep 21-Oct 12, 2005
CD Databases
- The library has two CD databases for library use only.
- The Sheffield Funeral Home Records, 1938-1990. These records were cataloged and made available on CD by the Southeast Texas Genealogical and Historical Society.
- The Southwest Louisiana Records, 1750-1900. These records wereresearched and compiled by Rev. Donald J. Hebert. They are also available in book format in the Reference area.
Vertical FileThe library has a vertical file as part of the library collection. It contains around 80 folders with assorted information covering Port Neches and Jefferson County history to everyday information, such as how to preserve fruit and vegetables, chair canning, net making, and building and maintaining a pond. A "Vertical File" call number search in the library catalog will list the vertical file titles. Click on the title to see the record information. Please check out the vertical files here.
You can find other Genealogy Databases under the database tab on the home page. Please let us know if you need any assistance!
